Suicide Prevention/Support Hotlines

The Trevor Project

  • TrevorLifeline (Available 24/7): 1-866-488-7386

  • Trevor Chat (online instant messaging)

    • 7 days a week 3 - 9 pm EST/ Noon - 7 pm PT

  • TrevorText

    • Text “START“ to 678678*

      • Available Monday through Friday 3 pm - 10 pm EST/ Noon - 7 pm PT

      • *Standard messaging rates may apply

GLBT National Help Center

  • LGBT National Hotline (1-888-843-4564) all ages

    • Monday-Friday: 4 pm - Midnight EST/ 1 pm - 9 pm PT

    • Saturday: Noon - 5 pm EST/ 9 am - 2 pm PT

  • LGBT National Youth Talkline (1-800-246-7743)

    • Monday-Friday: 4 pm - Midnight EST/ 1 pm - 9 pm PT

    • Saturday: Noon - 5 pm EST/ 9 am - 2 pm PT

  • LGBT National Senior Hotline (1-888-234-7243)

    • Monday-Friday: 4 pm - Midnight EST/ 1 pm - 9 pm PT

    • Saturday: Noon - 5 pm EST/ 9 am - 2 pm PT

  • Online Peer-Support Chat

    • Monday-Friday: 4 pm - Midnight EST/ 1 pm - 9 pm PT

    • Saturday: Noon - 5 pm EST/ 9 am - 2 pm PT

Trans Lifeline

  • Trans Lifeline is a peer-to-peer hotline ran by trans people that connects trans people with resources and crisis support.

  • Peer Support Hotline: (877) 565-8860

    • Available 24/7, with guaranteed operators from 10 am - 4 am EST

Trans Teens Online Talk Group

  • The Trans Teens Online Talk Group is designed to be a safe place that allows trans youth to talk freely about concerns and issues, with others their own age, providing support for one another, and helping each other know they are not alone. It is a live, moderated group chat for trans youth ages 12 through 19, that operates Thursdays from 7 pm - 9 pm EST.

Crime

Richland County Sheriff’s Department — Victims Assistance Unit

  • For further information, call the VAU at 803-576-3115

  • Gay and Lesbian Liaison Officer (GLLO) serves as a point of contact for members of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities who are victims of crime. For further information, call 803-576-3090

Sexual Trauma Services of the Midlands (STSM)

  • STSM is a non-profit organization that advocates for and supports survivors of sexual assault and abuse. It also educates the community to identify and prevent sexual violence. The organization has offices in the Richland, Lexington, Sumter, and Newberry counties of South Carolina. Office Hours: Monday - Friday from 9 am - 5 pm

  • Richland Office (Headquarters)

    • 3830 Forest Drive, Suite 201, Columbia, SC 29204

    • Phone: 803-790-8208
      Fax: 803-790-8282

  • Lexington Office

    • 711 East Main Street, Suite C, Lexington, SC 29072

  • Sumter Office

    • 533C Oxford Street, Sumter, SC 29150

  • Newberry Office

    • 1530 Main Street, Suite 201, Newberry, SC 29108

  • 24-Hour Crisis Hotline

    • 803-771-RAPE (7273) (Richland/Lexington) | 1-800-491-RAPE (7273) (Newberry/Sumter)

Non-emergency Services

United Way 211

  • Residents of the Richland, Newberry, Lexington, Fairfield, Orangeburg and Calhoun counties may access this resource for referrals 24/7 on non-emergency services such as community programs, counseling services, financial assistance, shelter and child cares services.

  • Dial 2-1-1 if in the Midlands area and, if outside the area or phone does not connect, call 803-733-5408 or toll free 1-866-892-9211.

Lost n Found Youth Inc.

  • Lost-n-Found Youth Inc. is a transitional housing facility that is the primary solution for homeless LGBT youth (between 13 and 25 years) in the Atlanta, GA area. Including transitional housing, expanded drop-in services include: shower provision, hygiene supplies, hot meals, clothing, and referrals to medical/dental/drug treatment.

  • 24-Hour Youth Crisis Support: 678-856-7825 (can call or text)

    • Call the hotline for directions and hours for the Youth Center

  • Administrative Offices: 678-856-7824

  • Thrift Store: 2585 Chantilly Drive, Atlanta, GA 30324

    • Monday - Saturday: 9 am - 8 pm

    • Sunday: 11 am - 6 pm